Take a look at the photo on the top of my page….if you are on a phone app you probably cant see it…imagine a scene like Buckingham Palace… an elegant hallway leading to… well, who knows where?
I kind of like to imagine that it leads to a beautiful sitting room where hot coffee in pretty cups await me and the ladies (ok and tea for Ms. Emma!) we are excited to get together and share each others company in the fanciful glamor of a room that could only be at the end of a hall like this! Invaribly the conversation would lead to the question, “did you see that painting in the hall?” or “I wonder where that sitting bench was purchased?” unfortunately, many of us (me included) would probably say,

“oh no! I didn’t see that!” or

“i missed it.”

Not because we are so blase that it was unimportant but that there was so much to take in, one couldn’t possibly appreciate ALL that was going on in that hall but also that we were all so excited about meeting our friends there and finding out how they were and catching up with each other, that we focused on the destination not the road that lead there. In our world these days, we are so quick to want the end result “RIGHT NOW!” that we don’t take the time anymore enjoy getting there.

Sometimes, I wonder…. is that what my walk with the Lord is like? Am I so focused on what I want and where I am headed that I fail to see the beauty along the way? I think, in many cases that answer is definitely “YES”

Recently, I had (yet another) health issue. It wasn’t that big of a deal really, I mean in the grand scheme of things….i’ve dealt with worse. The point is, when i realized that this was something that could go on for months I got down. Really down. I just wanted to be better. I wanted everything to be right so i could just go on with my life. Now this little issue is almost over, and in some ways I’m thinking that it’s too bad because i haven’t stopped to appreciate the things that have come along with it.
For instance, a family member came to make sure i didn’t have to cook, I have an in-home nurse who comes 3 times per week, I get to sleep in some days when the nurse is going to be later than usual. But have I let the people around me know that I appreciate them? Do they know that I will miss them when all of this is over and done with? Have I taken the time to let them know?

Maybe that’s why God said to the Apostle Paul, “My grace is sufficient.”. Maybe, when we are going through the trials of life, we should spend less time wanting to get to the end and more time looking around us and enjoying the good things in spite of our circumstances. “For power is perfected in weakness.” In 2 Corinthians 12:9 Paul points out that just because we are uncomfortable doesn’t mean God is not at work. In-fact it’s during those difficult times and trials that we should have the presence of mind to stop and say to our selves, “what is God trying to teach me in this?” or “how is God moving in this situation?”

I think if we are able to take that approach, it might make things easier. His grace IS sufficient and through out our weakness his power is magnified. We don’t serve a “Microwave” God…. He’s more of a slow roaster. But if we can just wait for it….If we can find hope… We will never be disappointed.

Romans 5:3-5 says “And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

Knowing this is what keeps me going some days… what keeps you going?

Until next time….Blessings!

