These words have been on my heart for a week. It’s so hard to write things like this. I fear sometimes it’s intrusive, it’s not my life that has been turned upside-down after all, how dare I immerse myself in the midst of this?
But the Word says we are to bear our burdens together. My heart breaks for my friend who lost her daughter at just 4 years old. I hurt for my friend who lost her grand-daughter and in the midst of it watched her own daughter suffer heartache that this time, just couldn’t be fixed by mom. I have seen the love of two parents and the devotion that even a 6 year old can teach us. And in the midst of it all I’ve see God’s grace and a faith that is the glue to hold the broken together. So, these words are for Katie & Kiki, for Charles and Isaac, for the family and close friends that surround them.

You can follow Katie’s blog at http://ourhighwayfive.com/2015/01/

Celebrate Her Anyway

She was on her way
everyone was excited!
There was lots to do to get prepared
Mom & Dad were so tired
But there is faith and there is love
We were determined to celebrate her anyway.

Then she came
in God’s time and in God’s way
complications did abound
It’s not how we planed it, Every one was so scared.
There were so many questions, fear and doubt
We didn’t even know how long we had
But there is faith and there is love
We were determined to celebrate her anyway

Life is full of questions
hard, unanswerable wonder
time and time again, God showed His mercy
through comfort, play time and song
Her big brother taking it all in and he loves her
because there is faith and there is love
He was determined to celebrate her anyway

Now it’s farewell and memories prevail
of long nights of prayer watching and waiting
of sunny days of laughter and fun
it seems too much to bear now that the day has come
our hearts are heavy, there are tears, longing and sadness.
But there is faith and there is love
We are determined to celebrate her anyway.

